Category Archive for 'Seasons'

Rogation Days

These are days of penance and supplication, traditionally observed with solemn processions during which the Litany of the Saints is recited. There are four Rogation Days in the traditional calendar of the Latin Church: the Major Litany observed on the Feast of Saint Mark (25 April), and the three Minor Litanies observed on the three […]

Epiphany house blessings

Homes are traditionally blessed during the Octave of Epiphany (6–13 January). Those of you who haven’t had your homes blessed yet should arrange to do so. The blessing is done with exorcised Epiphany Holy Water, blessed chalk, and exorcised incense (Frankincense with Myrrh). Since, for the most part, we all live quite a distance from […]

The Twelve Days of Christmas

When the secular world starts putting its ‘holiday’ things away, and as shopping malls stop blaring ‘Here Comes Santa Claus’, Catholics should just be getting started! The cleaning and baking during penitential Advent pays off now, and the feasting and carolling begin. The days from the Feast of the Nativity to the Epiphany are known […]

« Prev