Holy Family Parish, Vancouver, BC

Holy Family Parish offers Mass and administration of other sacraments in the traditional Latin form of the Roman Rite according to the liturgical norms of 1962. We invite you to learn more about our parish, and to attend our services.

news and announcements

Modified Mass schedule next week

As Fr. Geddes is away until May 29 and Fr. Franco will be away from May 29 to June 6, please note the following changes for next week:

  • May 29: no Mass
  • May 30 and June 1: 7 a.m. Mass only, no 9 a.m. Mass
  • May 31 and June 2: Low Mass at 7 a.m. and High Mass at 7:30 p.m.
  • June 3: 9 a.m. Mass only, no 7 a.m. Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, May 22
Feria in Paschaltide
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, May 23
Feria in Paschaltide
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, May 24
Vigil of the Ascension
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, May 25
Ascension of Our Lord
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Friday, May 26
St. Philip Neri
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, May 27
St. Bede the Venerable
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, May 28
Sunday after Ascension
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Modified Mass schedule

As Fr. Geddes is away, morning Masses from Tuesday to Friday next week will be at 7 a.m. only (no 9:00 Mass). The morning Masses on Monday, May 22 (Victoria Day), and Saturday, May 27, will be at 9:00 only (no 7:00 Mass). There will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m. on Ascension Thursday, May 25.

First Mass of Rev. Adrian Debow, FSSP

Deacon Adrian Debow of Calgary will be ordained to the Sacred Priesthood for the Priestly Fraternity of Saint Peter in Lincoln, Nebraska, on Friday, May 26. He will celebrate his First Mass at Holy Family at 7:30 pm on Wednesday, May 31, the feast of the Queenship of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Parishioners may remember Deacon Debow from the time he spent at Holy Family as part of his summer apostolate a few years ago.

Mass schedule

Monday, May 15
St. John Baptist de la Salle
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, May 16
St. Ubaldus
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, May 17
St. Paschal Baylon
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, May 18
St. Venantius
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, May 19
St. Peter Celestine
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, May 20
St. Bernardine of Siena
7 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, May 21
Fifth Sunday after Easter
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Modified Mass schedule

As Fr. Geddes will be away, there will be no 9 a.m. Masses from May 15 to 29, except on two Saturdays, May 20 and 27. On these two Saturdays, Mass will be at 9 a.m. and there will be no 7 a.m. Mass.

Mass schedule

Monday, May 8
Feria in Paschaltide
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, May 9
St. Gregory of Nazianzen
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, May 10
St. Antoninus
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, May 11
Ss. Philip and James
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, May 12
Ss. Nereus, Achilleus, Domitilla
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, May 13
St. Robert Bellarmine
7 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. Nuptial High Mass

Sunday, May 14
Fourth Sunday after Easter
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

First Friday and First Saturday

Tomorrow, May 5, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

On Saturday, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

Yard sale

The Society of St. Vincent de Paul will hold its third annual yard sale on Saturday, June 3, from 10:30 to noon. Proceeds will help members of our parish family who are in need as well as fund our outreach efforts.

Everyone is welcome to donate new or gently used items that are still in good condition (toys, household items, clothes, craft supplies, tools, etc., but no large furniture items, car seats, cribs, or electronics, please). Donations can be dropped off at Holy Family on Wednesdays after the 9 a.m. Mass or on Sundays after the 10:30 a.m. Mass. Pick-up can also be arranged.

We will also need volunteers to help sort the items as well as set up and clean up. Food donations are also welcome on the day of the garage sale.

Questions? Please contact Sherri Marcotte 604-710-4269.

Mass schedule

Monday, May 1
St. Joseph the Worker
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Tuesday, May 2
St. Athanasius
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, May 3
Feria in Paschaltide
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, May 4
St. Monica
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, May 5
St. Pius V (First Friday)
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart and Adoration until 10 p.m.

Saturday, May 6
Saturday of Our Lady
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, May 7
Third Sunday after Easter
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

St. Joseph the Worker

There will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, May 1, the feast of St. Joseph the Worker.

Mass schedule

Monday, April 24
St. Fidelis of Sigmaringen
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, April 25
St. Mark
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, April 26
Ss. Cletus and Marcellinus
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, April 27
St. Peter Canisius
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, April 28
St. Paul of the Cross
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, April 29
St. Paul of Verona
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, April 30
Good Shepherd Sunday
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Modified Mass schedule

Fr. Geddes will be away from Monday, April 24, to Thursday, April 27. There will be only one Mass on these days, at 7 a.m.

Sacred Triduum

Sacred Triduum, April 13-15, 2017

Holy Thursday: Mass of the Lord’s Supper

Procession to the Altar of Repose

Altar of Repose

Good Friday: Prostration of the clergy

Good Friday Prayers

“Ecce lignum crucis in quo salus mundi pependit” (Behold the wood of the cross on which hung the salvation of the world)

Veneration of the Cross by the clergy

Easter Vigil: Lighting of the Paschal candle

Exsultet

Blessing of the water

Procession to the baptismal font

Mass

(Photos courtesy of Claire Phillips)

Mass schedule

Monday, April 17
Easter Monday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, April 18
Easter Tuesday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, April 19
Easter Wednesday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, April 20
Easter Thursday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, April 21
Easter Friday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, April 22
Easter Saturday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, April 23
Low Sunday (Divine Mercy Sunday)
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Palm Sunday

Blessing of Palms and Procession at Holy Family, April 9, 2017

(Photos courtesy of Claire Phillips)

Mass schedule

Monday, April 10
Monday in Holy Week
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, April 11
Tuesday in Holy Week
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, April 12
Wednesday in Holy Week
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, April 13
Holy Thursday
7:30 p.m. Mass of the Lord’s Supper, followed by Adoration until midnight

Friday, April 14
Good Friday
1 p.m. Stations of the Cross
1:30 p.m. Mass of the Presanctified

Saturday, April 15
Holy Saturday
10 p.m. Easter Vigil

Sunday, April 16
Easter Sunday
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Register now for parish summer camp

Our 7th Annual Parish Campout will be held once again at Fintry Provincial Park on Okanagan Lake. The camp will take place from July 15 to 20.

Costs are $25 per family per night; $20 per single adult per night; and $5 per student per night. Payment can be made in cash, by cheque to “Knights of Columbus 16076,” or by e-transfer. Please register early. After May 31, registration will be opened to a limited number of people from outside the parish.

For more information, please contact Carl Wolkenstein at 604-264-1210 or carlwolkenstein@telus.net, or Mark Donnelly at 604-339-4435 or mark@markdonnelly.ca.

Registration form

Mass schedule

Monday, April 3
Feria of Passiontide
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, April 4
Feria of Passiontide
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, April 5
Feria of Passiontide
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, April 6
Feria of Passiontide
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, April 7
Feria of Passiontide (First Friday)
7 a.m. Low Mass
7 p.m. Stations of the Cross
7:30 p.m. High Mass followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart and Adoration

Saturday, April 8
Feria of Passiontide
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, April 9
Palm Sunday
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Sacred Triduum schedule

  • Maundy Thursday, April 13: 7:30 p.m., Mass of the Lord’s Supper followed by Adoration until midnight
  • Good Friday, April 14: 1 p.m., Stations of the Cross; 1:30 p.m., Mass of the Presanctified
  • Holy Saturday, April 15: 10 p.m., Easter Vigil

Please note that we will not have Sung Tenebrae this year.

« Prev - Next »