Holy Family Parish, Vancouver, BC

Holy Family Parish offers Mass and administration of other sacraments in the traditional Latin form of the Roman Rite according to the liturgical norms of 1962. We invite you to learn more about our parish, and to attend our services.

news and announcements

Catholic pilgrimage to Holy Land

Fr. David Franco, FSSP, assistant pastor of Holy Family Parish in Vancouver, BC, invites you to join him on a Catholic pilgrimage to the Holy Land from November 26 to December 9, 2017. For information about itinerary and pricing, please visit Orbis Catholicus Travel at www.oc-travel.com, or contact Susan Kotnik at susankotnik@gmail.com or 604-465-6911.

First Friday and First Saturday

On Friday, March 3, there will be Stations of the Cross at 7 p.m. and High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

On Saturday, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

Mass schedule

Monday, February 27
St. Gabriel of Our Lady of Sorrows
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, February 28
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, March 1
Ash Wednesday
7 a.m. Low Mass
12 noon Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Thursday, March 2
Thursday after Ash Wednesday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, March 3
Friday after Ash Wednesday (First Friday)
7 a.m. Low Mass
7 p.m. Stations of the Cross
7:30 p.m. High Mass, followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart and Adoration until 10:00

Saturday, March 4
Saturday after Ash Wednesday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, March 5
First Sunday of Lent
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Fridays in Lent

Every Friday in Lent, there will be Stations of the Cross at 7 p.m. followed by Mass at 7:30 p.m.

Ash Wednesday

In addition to the 7 a.m. Mass on Ash Wednesday, March 1, there will be a Low Mass at 12 noon and a High Mass at 7:30 p.m. We will have the blessing and imposition of ashes at all Masses.

Shrove Tuesday

“Fat Tuesday” or “Shrove Tuesday” is the day before Ash Wednesday. This year it falls on February 28. We will pray the rosary in the church at 6 p.m., followed by a pancake dinner in the hall at 6:30.

Mass schedule

Monday, February 20
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, February 21
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, February 22
Chair of St. Peter the Apostle
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, February 23
St. Peter Damian
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, February 24
St. Matthias
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, February 25
Saturday of Our Lady
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, February 26
Quinquagesima Sunday
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Modified Mass schedule

As Fr. Franco is away, there will be no 9 a.m. Mass from Tuesday, February 14, to Friday, February 17 (7 a.m. Mass only). Monday, February 13, is a public holiday (Family Day), so Mass will be at 9 a.m. instead of 7 a.m.

Mass schedule

Monday, February 13
Feria
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, February 14
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, February 15
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, February 16
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, February 17
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, February 18
Saturday of Our Lady
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, February 19
Sexagesima Sunday
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, February 6
St. Titus
7 a.m. Low Mass
10 a.m. Funeral Mass (Martha Tau Cheung)

Tuesday, February 7
St. Romuald
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, February 8
St. John of Matha
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, February 9
St. Cyril of Alexandria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, February 10
St. Scholastica
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, February 11
Apparition of Our Lady of Lourdes
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, February 12
Septuagesima Sunday
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, January 30
St. Martina
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, January 31
St. John Bosco
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, February 1
St. Ignatius of Antioch
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, February 2
Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Friday, February 3
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass, followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

Saturday, February 4
St. Andrew Corsini
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, February 5
Fifth Sunday after Epiphany
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Men’s Burgers and Beer Night

The Knights of Columbus at Holy Family are sponsoring a “Men’s Burgers and Beer Night” on Saturday, February 25. All men, parishioners or not, are invited. We will have a wide variety of beers to tempt your taste buds and chase down our legendary burgers. There will be card tables, poker, and good ol’-fashioned chin wagging. Festivities begin at 5:45. Please email Tim Bonner at tim.bonner@shaw.ca by February 18 to let us know if you are coming.

First Friday and First Saturday

On Friday, February 3, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

On Saturday, February 4, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

Candlemas

There will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, February 2, the feast of the Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Blessing of candles will take place at the High Mass. If you would like to have candles blessed, please bring them to church in a plastic bag with your name written on it. Only one bag per family, please.

Mass schedule

Monday, January 23
St. Raymond of Peñafort
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, January 24
St. Timothy
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, January 25
Conversion of St. Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, January 26
St. Polycarp
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, January 27
St. John Chrysostom
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, January 28
St. Peter Nolasco
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, January 29
Fourth Sunday after Epiphany
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Modified Mass schedule

Fr. Geddes will be away from January 23 to 28. There will be no 9:00 Mass from Monday to Friday, and no 7:00 Mass on Saturday.

Estate and burial planning presentation

… … will take place in the Holy Family parish hall at 1:30 p.m. on Sunday, February 12. This is a free workshop: a Catholic’s guide to will preparation, powers of attorney, advance care planning, funeral and burial instructions, and cemetery selection. Receive free guides and loads of practical advice. No investments services or insurance will be promoted or sold. The speaker is Mary McDaniel from the Archdiocese of Vancouver.

Mass schedule

Monday, January 16
St. Marcellus I
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, January 17
St. Anthony
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, January 18
Feria 
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, January 19
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, January 20
Sts. Fabian and Sebastian
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, January 21
St. Agnes
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, January 22
Third Sunday after Epiphany
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Forty Hours devotion

Holy Family will have its annual Forty Hours devotion from February 7 to 9. Please sign up on the sheet in the foyer of the church. We need at least two persons per hour, but ideally we would have more.

Mass schedule

Monday, January 9
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, January 10
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, January 11
Feria 
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, January 12
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, January 13
Commemoration of the Baptism of Our Lord
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Saturday, January 14
St. Hilary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, January 15
Second Sunday after Epiphany
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

« Prev - Next »