Holy Family Parish, Vancouver, BC

Holy Family Parish offers Mass and administration of other sacraments in the traditional Latin form of the Roman Rite according to the liturgical norms of 1962. We invite you to learn more about our parish, and to attend our services.

news and announcements

Mass schedule

Monday, July 10
Ss. Rufina and Secunda
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 11
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, July 12
St. John Gualbert
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 13
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 14
St. Bonaventure
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 15
St. Henry
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 16
Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

FSSP seminarian at Holy Family

Please welcome James Eichman, who arrived at Holy Family from Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary on June 27. He will be with us until July 11 as part of his summer apostolate.

First Friday

On Friday, July 7, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m. There will also be a Low Mass at 7 a.m.

Confirmations with Archbishop Miller

Archbishop J. Michael Miller will come to Holy Family to administer the sacrament of Confirmation at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, July 6. All are encouraged to support the confirmandi with their presence, and to meet the Archbishop, who has been very generous towards our parish over the years.

A reception will follow the ceremony. If you are able to attend, please bring a dish of finger food to share (we do have enough desserts, however).

Mass schedule

Monday, July 3
St. Irenaeus of Lyons
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 4
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, July 5
St. Anthony Mary Zaccaria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 6
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 7
Ss. Cyril and Methodius
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Saturday, July 8
St. Elizabeth of Portugal
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 9
Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, June 26
Ss. John and Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 27
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 28
Vigil of Ss. Peter and Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 29
Ss. Peter and Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, June 30
Commemoration of St. Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 1
Most Precious Blood of Our Lord
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Sunday, July 2
Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Modified Mass schedule

There will be no 9 a.m. Mass from Monday to Friday, June 26 to 30. Mass will be at 7 a.m. only.

On Saturday, July 1, there will be no First Saturday devotions. There will be a High Mass at 10:30 a.m. for the feast of the Most Precious Blood of Our Lord.

Monday, July 3, is a public holiday, and Mass will be at 9 a.m. only.

Mass schedule

Monday, June 19
St. Juliana Falconieri
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 20
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 21
St. Aloysius Gonzaga
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 22
St. Paulinus of Nola
7 a.m. Low Mass
(No 9 a.m. Mass)

Friday, June 23
Sacred Heart of Jesus
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Saturday, June 24
Nativity of St. John the Baptist
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, June 25
Third Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Our annual parish picnic

… will take place on Saturday, July 1, which, besides being Canada Day, is the feast of the Precious Blood and also the ninth anniversary of the establishment of Holy Family as a personal parish for the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite. A High Mass at 10:30 a.m. will be followed by a barbecue/picnic on the parish grounds.  (There will be no 7 a.m. Mass or First Saturday devotions.) Please bring a side dish or dessert (in sufficient quantity for the number of people in your party) to the hall kitchen by 10 a.m. Volunteers are needed to assist in cleaning up after the day’s events. Please email sherri.marcotte@gmail.com.

Flashback: July 1, 2008

Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

There will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, June 23, the feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. There will also be a Low Mass at 7 a.m.

Mass schedule

Monday, June 12
St. John of San Facundo
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 13
St. Anthony of Padua
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 14
St. Basil the Great
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 15
Corpus Christi
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, June 16
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, June 17
St. Gregory Barbarigo
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, June 18
External Solemnity of Corpus Christi
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

First Communion and procession

… on Sunday, June 18, the External Solemnity of Corpus Christi. Six girls and four boys will receive Our Lord for the first time. The procession will follow the High Mass.

Farewell reception for Fr. Franco

There will be a farewell reception for Fr. Franco after the 10:30 Mass on June 25, Father’s last Sunday at Holy Family. Please bring a dish of finger food to share. A sign-up sheet is found in the foyer of the church.

Volunteers are also needed to help with setup, kitchen duties, and cleanup. Please contact Grace Popil at popils@shaw.ca or 604-314-8444 if you can help.

Modified Mass schedule

As Fr. Geddes will be away, there will be no 9 a.m. Mass from Monday to Friday, June 12 to 16, and no 7 a.m. Mass on Saturday, June 17.

Mass schedule

Monday, June 5
Pentecost Monday
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 6
Pentecost Tuesday
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 7
Ember Wednesday of Pentecost
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 8
Pentecost Thursday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, June 9
Ember Friday of Pentecost
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, June 10
Ember Saturday of Pentecost
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, June 11
Trinity Sunday
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Special announcement from Fr. Franco

Dear Holy Family parishioners,

At the end of June, after two wonderful years in Vancouver, I will be transferred to the Priestly Fraternity of St. Peter apostolate in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. It was an honour and a privilege to work in this parish and get to know “all y’all.”

You will be receiving two new priests. Fr. Joseph Orlowski, FSSP (whom some of you already know), will be coming in the middle of July. Fr. Alexandre Marchand, FSSP, will come at the end of August.

Please keep me in your prayers as I keep you in mine.

In Christ through Mary,
Fr. Franco

Mass schedule

Monday, May 29
St. Mary Magdalen of Pazzi
No Mass

Tuesday, May 30
Feria after the Ascension
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, May 31
Queenship of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass (First Mass of Rev. Adrian Debow, FSSP)

Thursday, June 1
St.Angela Merici
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, June 2
Feria (First Friday)
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass, followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart and Adoration till 10 p.m.

Saturday, June 3
Vigil of Pentecost
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, June 4
Pentecost Sunday
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

First Friday and First Saturday

On Friday, June 3, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

On Saturday, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

Modified Mass schedule next week

As Fr. Geddes is away until May 29 and Fr. Franco will be away from May 29 to June 6, please note the following changes for next week:

  • May 29: no Mass
  • May 30 and June 1: 7 a.m. Mass only, no 9 a.m. Mass
  • May 31 and June 2: Low Mass at 7 a.m. and High Mass at 7:30 p.m.
  • June 3: 9 a.m. Mass only, no 7 a.m. Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, May 22
Feria in Paschaltide
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, May 23
Feria in Paschaltide
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, May 24
Vigil of the Ascension
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, May 25
Ascension of Our Lord
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Friday, May 26
St. Philip Neri
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, May 27
St. Bede the Venerable
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, May 28
Sunday after Ascension
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

« Prev - Next »