Holy Family Parish, Vancouver, BC

Holy Family Parish offers Mass and administration of other sacraments in the traditional Latin form of the Roman Rite according to the liturgical norms of 1962. We invite you to learn more about our parish, and to attend our services.

news and announcements

Christmas craft fair at Holy Family

The annual Society of St. Vincent de Paul craft fair will take place from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday, December 2 (the day before the First Sunday of Advent). Interested in selling your handmade crafts? Tables are $40 each or $60 for two. Please reserve your tables early. For more information, please contact Sherri Marcotte at sherri.marcotte@gmail.com or 604-710-4269.

Oktoberfest at Holy Family

The Society of St. Vincent de Paul, the Knights of Columbus Fr. Kenneth Walker Council, and the Young Adults of Holy Family will host an Oktoberfest in the parish hall on Saturday, October 28. Doors open at 6 p.m. and dinner will be served at 6:30. Last call will be at 10:30. Tickets are $25 each and include a plated German dinner, commemorative beer mug, and one complimentary beer. Dinner and dance music will be provided by the Edelweiss Musikanten German band.

Babysitting is by donation. Put your name in quickly as space is limited.

For tickets or more information, email Bernadette Bonner at bonner.bernadette@gmail.com or see her after the High Mass on Sunday.

Mass schedule

Monday, September 18
St. Joseph of Cupertino
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, September 19
Ss. Januarius and Companions
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, September 20
Ember Wednesday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, September 21
St. Matthew
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, September 22
Ember Friday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, September 23
Ember Saturday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, September 24
Sixteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Society of St. Vincent de Paul clothing drive

Just one coat can make the difference! Throughout the cooler months, the Holy Family Conference of the Society of St. Vincent de Paul will be collecting new and gently used coats and blankets for men. Gloves, socks, mittens, and scarves will also be accepted.

Please contact Sherri Marcotte at 604-710-4269 or bring your donations to the church hall after both Masses each Sunday. Thank you for your generosity!

Mass schedule

Monday, September 11
Ss. Protus and Hyacinth
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, September 12
Most Holy Name of Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, September 13
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, September 14
Exaltation of the Cross
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, September 15
Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, September 16
Ss. Cornelius and Cyprian
7 a.m. Low Mass
11 a.m. Solemn Nuptial Mass (Daniel Hessels and Mary-Clare Turner)

Sunday, September 17
Fifteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, September 4
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, September 5
St. Lawrence Justinian
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, September 6
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, September 7
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, September 8
Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Saturday, September 9
Saturday of Our Lady
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, September 10
Fourteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary

On Friday, September 8, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m. to celebrate the birthday of Our Lady. There will also be Low Masses at 7 a.m. and 9 a.m.

First Friday and First Saturday

On Friday, September 1, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 9:30 p.m. Please note that there will also be a Low Mass at 7 a.m. only (none at 9 a.m.).

On Saturday, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

Mass schedule

Monday, August 28
St. Augustine
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 29
Beheading of St. John the Baptist
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, August 30
St. Rose of Lima
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 31
St. Raymond Nonnatus
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, September 1
Fera
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass, with devotions to the Sacred Heart and adoration until 9:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 2
St. Stephen of Hungary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, September 3
Thirteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, August 21
St. Jane Frances de Chantal
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 22
Immaculate Heart of Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, August 23
St. Philip Benizi
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 24
St. Bartholomew
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, August 25
St. Louis IX
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, August 26
Saturday of Our Lady
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, August 27
Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, August 14
Vigil of the Assumption
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 15
Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Wednesday, August 16
St. Joachim, Father of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 17
St. Hyacinth
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, August 18
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, August 19
St. John Eudes
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, August 20
Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, August 7
St. Cajetan
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 8
St. John Mary Vianney
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, August 9
Vigil of St. Laurence
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 10
St. Laurence
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, August 11
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, August 12
St. Clare
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, August 13
Tenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

FSSP seminarian at Holy Family

Please welcome Alfred Lam, who arrived at Holy Family on July 28. He will be with us until August 28 as part of his summer apostolate. Mr. Lam is from Hong Kong and will be entering his third year at Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary this fall.

Fr. Caleb Insco, FSSP

… will celebrate a First Mass at Holy Family at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, August 15, the feast of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary. First blessings will take place before and after the Solemn High Mass. Fr. Insco was ordained on October 22, 2016, and is currently the parochial vicar at St. Joseph Catholic Church in Tacoma, Washington.

Mass schedule

Monday, July 31
St. Ignatius of Loyola
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 1
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, August 2
St. Alphonsus Liguori
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 3
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, August 4
St. Dominic
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass, followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

Saturday, August 5
Dedication of St. Mary Major
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, August 6
Transfiguration of Our Lord
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

First Friday and First Saturday

On Friday, August 4, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

On Saturday, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

Parish summer camp

Holy Family Parish Camp took place at Fintry Provincial Park in British Columbia’s Okanagan Valley from July 15 to 19. It was a huge success, with 117 people registered this year.

The Traditional Latin Mass was celebrated each morning by Holy Family pastor Father Daniel Geddes, FSSP, with altar servers from Holy Family and those visiting the camp from other parishes, including young men from Calgary. Deacon Graham Latimer, FSSP, assisted Father. Confession was offered daily before Holy Mass. One could also find quiet spaces for prayer and reflection.

Fun and games during the day kept everyone busy. There were impromptu nature walks, hikes, swimming, boating, and a visit to the historic Fintry House for Fintry Days. A Viking battle reenactment, music, and local vendors made a visit enjoyable. There were opportunities for meeting and visiting other campers, and the talks given by fellow campers were interesting and well received. The annual cribbage tournament was enjoyed by young and old alike, both experts and novices. As usual, the water fight was rowdy with laughs galore. Talent night featured songs, recitations, instrumentals, a card trick, and a yoyo demonstration. Fr. Geddes led the Rosary after dinner each evening, after which campers had the opportunity to “Ask Father” questions from the question box.

The weather cooperated beautifully and the forest fires in the vicinity didn’t get too close despite a few gusts of wind, doubtless due in no small part to the prayers offered by many.

Each year is unique and this one seemed especially blessed by camaraderie, community, hospitality, sportsmanship, and all that comes from a shared faith in Christ and His Holy Church.

Deo gratias!

– Claire Phillips

[Cross-posted at Una Voce Canada]

(Photos courtesy of Claire Phillips and Carl Wolkenstein)

Confirmations at Holy Family

Signo te signo crucis et confirmo te chrismate salutis. In nomine Patris et Filii et Spiritus Sancti. (I sign thee with the sign of the Cross, and I confirm thee with the chrism of salvation, in the Name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost.)

With these words, His Grace the Most Reverend J. Michael Miller, CSB, Archbishop of Vancouver, conferred the Sacrament of Confirmation on 14 young men and women on the evening of July 6, 2017, at Holy Family Church in Vancouver, British Columbia. He was assisted by Holy Family pastor Fr. Daniel Geddes, FSSP, and Mr. James Eichman, a seminarian at Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary in Lincoln, Nebraska, who was the MC for this ceremony in the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite.

The ceremony closed with Exposition and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament and was followed by a sumptuous reception in the parish hall.

[Cross-posted at Una Voce Canada]

(Photos courtesy of Claire Phillips)

Clergy news

Please welcome Fr. Joseph Orlowski, FSSP, who arrived in Vancouver on July 22 to take up his new assignment as an assistant parish priest at Holy Family. Father will offer the 10:30 Mass on Sunday, July 30.

Fr. Anthony Uy, FSSP, was at Holy Family for the last two weekends. He will be here for one more weekend before leaving for Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary, where he will be teaching Moral Theology this fall. Fr. Uy recently completed his studies for a Licentiate in Sacred Theology (STL) in Rome.

Mass schedule

Monday, July 24
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 25
St. James the Greater
7 a.m. Low Mass
No 9 a.m. Mass

Wednesday, July 26
St. Anne, Mother of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 27
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 28
Ss. Nazarius, Celsus, Victor I, and Innocent I
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 29
St. Martha
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 30
Eighth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

« Prev - Next »