Holy Family Parish, Vancouver, BC

Holy Family Parish offers Mass and administration of other sacraments in the traditional Latin form of the Roman Rite according to the liturgical norms of 1962. We invite you to learn more about our parish, and to attend our services.

news and announcements

Mass schedule

Monday, July 18
St. Camillus de Lellis
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 19
St. Vincent de Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, July 20
St. Jerome Emiliani
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 21
St. Laurence of Brindisi
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 22
St. Mary Magdalene
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 23
St. Apollinaris
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 24
Tenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Modified Mass schedule next week

Due to the parish summer camp next week, there will be no 9 a.m. Mass from Monday, July 18, to Thursday, July 21. Mass on these days will be at 7 a.m. only.

Mass schedule

Monday, July 11
St. Pius I
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 12
St. John Gualbert
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, July 13
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 14
St. Bonaventure
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 15
St. Henry
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 16
Our Lady of Mount Carmel
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 17
Ninth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Holy Family at eight

Thanks to Claire Phillips for these photos of the Solemn High Mass offered on July 1, 2016, the feast of the Precious Blood and the eighth anniversary of the establishment of Holy Family as a personal parish for the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite. Fr. Daniel Geddes, FSSP,  was the celebrant; Fr. Brian McDonnell, FSSP, the deacon; and Fr. Anthony Uy, FSSP, the subdeacon. The Mass was followed by our annual parish picnic, which featured a roast pig, a dunk tank, ball hockey, square dancing, a jello-eating contest, and an evening barbecue, with clergy and parishioners praying the Divine Mercy Chaplet in the church at 3 p.m.

Flashback
Inaugural Mass, July 1, 2008 | Decree of Establishment

Mass schedule

Monday, July 4
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 5
St. Anthony Mary Zaccaria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, July 6
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 7
Sts. Cyril and Methodius
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 8
St. Elizabeth of Portugal
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 9
Saturday of Our Lady
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 10
Eighth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Farewell reception for Fr. McDonnell (updated)

There will be a farewell reception for Fr. McDonnell after the 10:30 Mass on Sunday, July 10, Father’s last Sunday at Holy Family. Please bring a dish to share. A sign-up sheet is found in the foyer of the church. Please sign up by Wednesday, July 6, indicating your name, number of people, and the dish you will bring. We have lots of desserts, so main dishes and salads would be most welcome.

You can also sign up by email by writing to socials@holyfamilyvancouver.ca. For more information, please phone Marilen at 604-608-3552.

Mass schedule

Monday, June 27
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 28
Vigil of Sts. Peter and Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 29
Sts. Peter and Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass | Music Program | Recessional

Thursday, June 30
Commemoration of St. Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 1
Most Precious Blood of Jesus
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass | Music Program | Recessional

Saturday, July 2
Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 3
Seventh Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

A thank-you letter from the seminary

Dear Father Geddes and Parishioners of Holy Family,

I wish to thank you for generously inviting seminarians to spend their summer apostolate at Holy Family Parish and for assisting them in their travel expenses.

Seminarians at Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary are required to spend one month each summer working in an apostolate of the Priestly Fraternity of St. Peter in order to help them in their pastoral formation.

The time spent at Holy Family allows them to experience parish life first-hand and to prepare them for the day, God willing, when they will enter the parish as a newly ordained priest.

I am pleased that the seminarians who go to Holy Family are able to take away much to aid them in their priestly formation.

May God reward you for your kindness and generosity in hosting multiple seminarians every summer!

Sincerely yours in Christ,

Fr. William Lawrence, FSSP
Director of Seminarian Apostolates
Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary

Feast of Sts. Peter and Paul

There will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, June 29, the Feast of Sts. Peter and Paul. There will also be two Low Masses, at 7 a.m. and 9 a.m.

Mass schedule

Monday, June 20
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 21
St. Aloysius Gonzaga
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 22
St. Paulinus of Nola
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 23
Vigil of the Nativity of St. John the Baptist
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, June 24
Nativity of St. John the Baptist
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass | Music Program | Recessional

Saturday, June 25
St. William
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, June 26
Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass | Music Program | Entrance | Recessional

Farewell reception for Fr. McDonnell

There will be a farewell reception for Fr. McDonnell after the 10:30 Mass on Sunday, July 10, Father’s last Sunday at Holy Family. Please bring a dish to share. A sign-up sheet is found in the foyer of the church; please indicate your name, number of people, and the dish you will bring. You can also sign up by email by writing to socials@holyfamilyvancouver.ca. For more information, please phone Marilen at 604-608-3552.

Upcoming Sung Masses

  • 7:30 p.m., Friday, June 24, Nativity of St. John the Baptist
  • 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, June 29, Feast of Sts. Peter and Paul

Modified Mass schedule

Monday, June 13
St. Anthony of Padua
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 14
St. Basil the Great
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 15
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 16
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, June 17
St. Gregory Barbarigo
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, June 18
St. Ephrem of Syria
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, June 19
Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass | Music Program | Entrance | Recessional

Fr. McDonnell

It was announced on Sunday, June 5, that Fr. Brian McDonnell, FSSP, will be leaving Holy Family to take up a new assignment at the Priestly Fraternity of Saint Peter apostolate in the Diocese of Dallas, Texas, in July. We are very grateful for Father’s presence at Holy Family during the past year, and especially for his zeal for souls and the truths of our faith. Please keep him in your prayers.

Modified Mass schedule

Monday, June 6
St. Norbert
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 7
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 8
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 9
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, June 10
St. Margaret, Queen of Scots
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, June 11
St. Barnabas
9 a.m. Solemn Requiem Mass for Fr. Kenneth Walker, FSSP

Sunday, June 12
Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass | Music Program | Entrance | Recessional

Holy Family Parish picnic (updated)

Our annual parish picnic will take place on Friday, July 1, which, besides being Canada Day, is the feast of the Precious Blood and the eighth anniversary of the establishment of Holy Family as a personal parish for the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite.

A High Mass at 10:30 a.m. will be followed by a barbecue/picnic on the parish grounds. The Knights of Columbus will be roasting a pig. There is a signup sheet in the foyer of the church for those who prefer hamburgers. Hamburgers will be served only to those who sign up for them.

(In addition to the High Mass, there will be a Low Mass at 8 a.m., not at 7 a.m.)

Picnic poster

Introductory class on the Traditional Latin Mass

… in the hall at Holy Family after the 10:30 a.m. Mass on Sunday, June 5, hosted by the Vancouver Traditional Mass Society. All are welcome, especially newcomers and visitors to Holy Family.

Mass schedule

Monday, May 30
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, May 31
Queenship of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass | Music Program

Wednesday, June 1
St. Angela Merici
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 2
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, June 3
Sacred Heart of Jesus
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass, followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m. | Propers | Music Program | Recessional

Saturday, June 4
St. Francis Caracciolo
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, June 5
Third Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass | Propers | Music Program | Entrance | Recessional

Queenship of Mary

We will have a High Mass at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 31, for this feast of Our Lady.

Ad Caeli Reginam (Encyclical of Pope Pius XII)

Feast of the Sacred Heart; First Saturday

We will have a High Mass at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, June 3, the Feast of the Sacred Heart, followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

On Saturday, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

Devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus

Next »