Holy Family Parish, Vancouver, BC

Holy Family Parish offers Mass and administration of other sacraments in the traditional Latin form of the Roman Rite according to the liturgical norms of 1962. We invite you to learn more about our parish, and to attend our services.

news and announcements

Mass schedule

Monday, August 14
Vigil of the Assumption
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 15
Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Wednesday, August 16
St. Joachim, Father of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 17
St. Hyacinth
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, August 18
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, August 19
St. John Eudes
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, August 20
Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, August 7
St. Cajetan
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 8
St. John Mary Vianney
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, August 9
Vigil of St. Laurence
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 10
St. Laurence
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, August 11
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, August 12
St. Clare
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, August 13
Tenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

FSSP seminarian at Holy Family

Please welcome Alfred Lam, who arrived at Holy Family on July 28. He will be with us until August 28 as part of his summer apostolate. Mr. Lam is from Hong Kong and will be entering his third year at Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary this fall.

Fr. Caleb Insco, FSSP

… will celebrate a First Mass at Holy Family at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, August 15, the feast of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary. First blessings will take place before and after the Solemn High Mass. Fr. Insco was ordained on October 22, 2016, and is currently the parochial vicar at St. Joseph Catholic Church in Tacoma, Washington.

Mass schedule

Monday, July 31
St. Ignatius of Loyola
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 1
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, August 2
St. Alphonsus Liguori
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 3
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, August 4
St. Dominic
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass, followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

Saturday, August 5
Dedication of St. Mary Major
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, August 6
Transfiguration of Our Lord
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

First Friday and First Saturday

On Friday, August 4, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m.

On Saturday, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

Parish summer camp

Holy Family Parish Camp took place at Fintry Provincial Park in British Columbia’s Okanagan Valley from July 15 to 19. It was a huge success, with 117 people registered this year.

The Traditional Latin Mass was celebrated each morning by Holy Family pastor Father Daniel Geddes, FSSP, with altar servers from Holy Family and those visiting the camp from other parishes, including young men from Calgary. Deacon Graham Latimer, FSSP, assisted Father. Confession was offered daily before Holy Mass. One could also find quiet spaces for prayer and reflection.

Fun and games during the day kept everyone busy. There were impromptu nature walks, hikes, swimming, boating, and a visit to the historic Fintry House for Fintry Days. A Viking battle reenactment, music, and local vendors made a visit enjoyable. There were opportunities for meeting and visiting other campers, and the talks given by fellow campers were interesting and well received. The annual cribbage tournament was enjoyed by young and old alike, both experts and novices. As usual, the water fight was rowdy with laughs galore. Talent night featured songs, recitations, instrumentals, a card trick, and a yoyo demonstration. Fr. Geddes led the Rosary after dinner each evening, after which campers had the opportunity to “Ask Father” questions from the question box.

The weather cooperated beautifully and the forest fires in the vicinity didn’t get too close despite a few gusts of wind, doubtless due in no small part to the prayers offered by many.

Each year is unique and this one seemed especially blessed by camaraderie, community, hospitality, sportsmanship, and all that comes from a shared faith in Christ and His Holy Church.

Deo gratias!

– Claire Phillips

[Cross-posted at Una Voce Canada]

(Photos courtesy of Claire Phillips and Carl Wolkenstein)

Confirmations at Holy Family

Signo te signo crucis et confirmo te chrismate salutis. In nomine Patris et Filii et Spiritus Sancti. (I sign thee with the sign of the Cross, and I confirm thee with the chrism of salvation, in the Name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost.)

With these words, His Grace the Most Reverend J. Michael Miller, CSB, Archbishop of Vancouver, conferred the Sacrament of Confirmation on 14 young men and women on the evening of July 6, 2017, at Holy Family Church in Vancouver, British Columbia. He was assisted by Holy Family pastor Fr. Daniel Geddes, FSSP, and Mr. James Eichman, a seminarian at Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary in Lincoln, Nebraska, who was the MC for this ceremony in the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite.

The ceremony closed with Exposition and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament and was followed by a sumptuous reception in the parish hall.

[Cross-posted at Una Voce Canada]

(Photos courtesy of Claire Phillips)

Clergy news

Please welcome Fr. Joseph Orlowski, FSSP, who arrived in Vancouver on July 22 to take up his new assignment as an assistant parish priest at Holy Family. Father will offer the 10:30 Mass on Sunday, July 30.

Fr. Anthony Uy, FSSP, was at Holy Family for the last two weekends. He will be here for one more weekend before leaving for Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary, where he will be teaching Moral Theology this fall. Fr. Uy recently completed his studies for a Licentiate in Sacred Theology (STL) in Rome.

Mass schedule

Monday, July 24
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 25
St. James the Greater
7 a.m. Low Mass
No 9 a.m. Mass

Wednesday, July 26
St. Anne, Mother of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 27
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 28
Ss. Nazarius, Celsus, Victor I, and Innocent I
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 29
St. Martha
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 30
Eighth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, July 17
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 18
St. Camillus de Lellis
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, July 19
St. Vincent de Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 20
St. Jerome Emiliani
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 21
St. Laurence of Brindisi
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 22
St. Mary Magdalene
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 23
Seventh Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

FSSP deacon at Holy Family

Please welcome Deacon Graham Latimer, FSSP, who arrived at Holy Family from Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary on July 11. He will be with us until August 11 as part of his summer apostolate.

Mass schedule

Monday, July 10
Ss. Rufina and Secunda
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 11
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, July 12
St. John Gualbert
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 13
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 14
St. Bonaventure
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 15
St. Henry
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 16
Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

FSSP seminarian at Holy Family

Please welcome James Eichman, who arrived at Holy Family from Our Lady of Guadalupe Seminary on June 27. He will be with us until July 11 as part of his summer apostolate.

First Friday

On Friday, July 7, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 10 p.m. There will also be a Low Mass at 7 a.m.

Confirmations with Archbishop Miller

Archbishop J. Michael Miller will come to Holy Family to administer the sacrament of Confirmation at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, July 6. All are encouraged to support the confirmandi with their presence, and to meet the Archbishop, who has been very generous towards our parish over the years.

A reception will follow the ceremony. If you are able to attend, please bring a dish of finger food to share (we do have enough desserts, however).

Mass schedule

Monday, July 3
St. Irenaeus of Lyons
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, July 4
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, July 5
St. Anthony Mary Zaccaria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, July 6
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, July 7
Ss. Cyril and Methodius
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Saturday, July 8
St. Elizabeth of Portugal
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, July 9
Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, June 26
Ss. John and Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 27
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 28
Vigil of Ss. Peter and Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 29
Ss. Peter and Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, June 30
Commemoration of St. Paul
7 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, July 1
Most Precious Blood of Our Lord
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Sunday, July 2
Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Modified Mass schedule

There will be no 9 a.m. Mass from Monday to Friday, June 26 to 30. Mass will be at 7 a.m. only.

On Saturday, July 1, there will be no First Saturday devotions. There will be a High Mass at 10:30 a.m. for the feast of the Most Precious Blood of Our Lord.

Monday, July 3, is a public holiday, and Mass will be at 9 a.m. only.

Mass schedule

Monday, June 19
St. Juliana Falconieri
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, June 20
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, June 21
St. Aloysius Gonzaga
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, June 22
St. Paulinus of Nola
7 a.m. Low Mass
(No 9 a.m. Mass)

Friday, June 23
Sacred Heart of Jesus
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Saturday, June 24
Nativity of St. John the Baptist
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, June 25
Third Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Next »