Holy Family Parish, Vancouver, BC

Holy Family Parish offers Mass and administration of other sacraments in the traditional Latin form of the Roman Rite according to the liturgical norms of 1962. We invite you to learn more about our parish, and to attend our services.

news and announcements

Mass schedule

Monday, October 16
St. Hedwig
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, October 17
St. Margaret Mary Alacoque
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, October 18
St. Luke
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, October 19
St. Peter of Alcantara
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, October 20
St. John Cantius
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, October 21
Saturday of Our Lady
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, October 22
Twentieth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Five-day parish mission

In preparation for Advent, Holy Family Parish will be hosting a five-day parish mission entitled “Coming Out of Egypt,” to be preached by Fr. Shannon Collins, MSJB (Missionarii Sancti Joannis Baptistae).

Fr. Collins has appeared on EWTN and previously served as chaplain for the Shrine of the Most Blessed Sacrament of Our Lady of the Angels Monastery in Alabama. He has preached retreats and parish missions throughout North America and is currently the pastor of Our Lady of Lourdes, a Traditional Latin Mass parish under Bishop Roger Foys of Covington, Kentucky.

The parish mission will run from December 3 to 7 (Sunday to Thursday). Evening mission conferences will start at 7 p.m. Morning catechism classes at 10 a.m. will add to and complete the message of the mission. There will also be confessions and Holy Mass. A detailed schedule will be provided in the coming weeks. Admission is free.

Please mark your calendars! This is a good opportunity to learn more about the Catholic faith and draw closer to Our Lord and Our Lady. Free will donation envelopes will be provided during the mission for those who would like to help Fr. Collins and his community in their apostolate.

To learn more about the parish mission, please contact Anne Castro anytime at 778-318-7436 or email her at intheheartsofjesusandmary@shaw.ca. You can also reach her at the parish office on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Mass schedule

Monday, October 9
St. John Leonardi
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, October 10
St. Francis Borgia
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, October 11
Motherhood of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Thursday, October 12
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, October 13
St. Edward the Confessor
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, October 14
St. Callistus I
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, October 15
Nineteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Sung Mass

… at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, October 11, in honour of the feast of the Motherhood of the Blessed Virgin Mary. There will also be Low Mass at 7 a.m. and 9 a.m.

Una Voce Canada annual general meeting

The annual general meeting of Una Voce Canada (Vancouver Traditional Mass Society) will be held on Saturday, November 11, following the 9 a.m. Mass at Holy Family. The meeting will take place in the parish hall.

Dr. John Rao, associate professor of European history at St. John’s University in New York and director of the Roman Forum, a Catholic cultural organization founded by the late Dietrich von Hildebrand, will be our guest speaker. His topic will be “My End Is My Beginning – A Historical Guide to Catholic Hope in an Age of Unprecedented Collapse.”

Only registered members may vote during the meeting. To join or to renew your membership, pick up a form in the foyer of the church, email info@unavocecanada.org, or visit our website at http://unavocecanada.org. The cost of a year’s membership, which includes a subscription to our quarterly newsletter, is $20 for an individual and $25 per family.

A complimentary light lunch will be served following the Mass for all those who will be staying for the meeting. If you plan to attend, please sign up on the sheet in the foyer at Holy Family, email info@unavocecanada.org, or leave a message at 604-608-3552 by November 5.

All are invited!

Meeting poster | Membership form | Works by Dr. Rao

Mass schedule

Monday, October 2
Holy Guardian Angels
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, October 3
Dedication of Holy Rosary Cathedral
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, October 4
St. Francis of Assisi
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, October 5
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, October 6
St. Bruno (First Friday)
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass, followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 9:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 7
Our Lady of the Rosary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, October 8
Seventeenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

First Friday and First Saturday

On First Friday, October 6, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 9:30 p.m.

On Saturday, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

All Hallow’s Eve costume party

Join us at Sts. Joachim and Ann in Aldergrove on Tuesday, October 31, for our second annual All Hallow’s Eve costume party! Come dressed up as your favourite saint; adults are welcome to dress up too.

The evening will begin with Solemn Vespers of All Saints at 5 p.m., followed by the party. The party will feature the always popular “trunk or treat” (weather permitting, this portion will be outdoors; if it looks drizzly, bring an umbrella!) – please bring a bag of candy to distribute from your “trunk,” so that the kids can have a chance to show off their costumes by walking from “trunk to trunk” to plead treats. New this year: decorate your trunk to enter the trunk decorating contest!

Afterwards, there will be goodies and pizza inside (please bring $2 per person, maximum of $10 per family, for pizza if you would like to partake), games for the kids, and a prize for best costume (to be judged by one of the priests). During the party, there will be Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament available (a sign-up sheet will be posted in Sts. Joachim and Ann vestibule at the party). The evening will conclude at 7:30 p.m. with Benediction.

So that we have an idea of how much pizza to bring, RSVP by emailing Sarah Bjorgaard at sarah.bjorgaard@gmail.com or calling Sts. Joachim and Ann parish office at 604-857-1944.

Mass schedule

Monday, September 25
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, September 26
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, September 27
Ss. Cosmas and Damian
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, September 28
St. Wenceslaus
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, September 29
Dedication of St. Michael the Archangel
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, September 30
St. Jerome
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, October 1
Seventeenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Christmas craft fair at Holy Family

The annual Society of St. Vincent de Paul craft fair will take place from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday, December 2 (the day before the First Sunday of Advent). Interested in selling your handmade crafts? Tables are $40 each or $60 for two. Please reserve your tables early. For more information, please contact Sherri Marcotte at sherri.marcotte@gmail.com or 604-710-4269.

Oktoberfest at Holy Family

The Society of St. Vincent de Paul, the Knights of Columbus Fr. Kenneth Walker Council, and the Young Adults of Holy Family will host an Oktoberfest in the parish hall on Saturday, October 28. Doors open at 6 p.m. and dinner will be served at 6:30. Last call will be at 10:30. Tickets are $25 each and include a plated German dinner, commemorative beer mug, and one complimentary beer. Dinner and dance music will be provided by the Edelweiss Musikanten German band.

Babysitting is by donation. Put your name in quickly as space is limited.

For tickets or more information, email Bernadette Bonner at bonner.bernadette@gmail.com or see her after the High Mass on Sunday.

Mass schedule

Monday, September 18
St. Joseph of Cupertino
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, September 19
Ss. Januarius and Companions
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, September 20
Ember Wednesday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, September 21
St. Matthew
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, September 22
Ember Friday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, September 23
Ember Saturday
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, September 24
Sixteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Society of St. Vincent de Paul clothing drive

Just one coat can make the difference! Throughout the cooler months, the Holy Family Conference of the Society of St. Vincent de Paul will be collecting new and gently used coats and blankets for men. Gloves, socks, mittens, and scarves will also be accepted.

Please contact Sherri Marcotte at 604-710-4269 or bring your donations to the church hall after both Masses each Sunday. Thank you for your generosity!

Mass schedule

Monday, September 11
Ss. Protus and Hyacinth
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, September 12
Most Holy Name of Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, September 13
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, September 14
Exaltation of the Cross
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, September 15
Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, September 16
Ss. Cornelius and Cyprian
7 a.m. Low Mass
11 a.m. Solemn Nuptial Mass (Daniel Hessels and Mary-Clare Turner)

Sunday, September 17
Fifteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, September 4
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, September 5
St. Lawrence Justinian
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, September 6
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, September 7
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, September 8
Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Saturday, September 9
Saturday of Our Lady
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, September 10
Fourteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary

On Friday, September 8, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m. to celebrate the birthday of Our Lady. There will also be Low Masses at 7 a.m. and 9 a.m.

First Friday and First Saturday

On Friday, September 1, there will be a High Mass at 7:30 p.m., followed by devotions to the Sacred Heart with Adoration until 9:30 p.m. Please note that there will also be a Low Mass at 7 a.m. only (none at 9 a.m.).

On Saturday, there will be Exposition at 7:40 a.m. followed by devotions to the Immaculate Heart of Mary at 8:30 a.m.

Mass schedule

Monday, August 28
St. Augustine
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 29
Beheading of St. John the Baptist
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, August 30
St. Rose of Lima
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 31
St. Raymond Nonnatus
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, September 1
Fera
7 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass, with devotions to the Sacred Heart and adoration until 9:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 2
St. Stephen of Hungary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, September 3
Thirteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, August 21
St. Jane Frances de Chantal
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 22
Immaculate Heart of Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Wednesday, August 23
St. Philip Benizi
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 24
St. Bartholomew
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, August 25
St. Louis IX
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, August 26
Saturday of Our Lady
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, August 27
Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Mass schedule

Monday, August 14
Vigil of the Assumption
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Tuesday, August 15
Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass
7:30 p.m. High Mass

Wednesday, August 16
St. Joachim, Father of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Thursday, August 17
St. Hyacinth
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Friday, August 18
Feria
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Saturday, August 19
St. John Eudes
7 a.m. Low Mass
9 a.m. Low Mass

Sunday, August 20
Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost
8 a.m. Low Mass
10:30 a.m. High Mass

Next »